Restrepo

To tell this story, the film maker embedded himself and his crew with American troops as they arrived for a tour of duty in Afghanistan.

On the one hand, I felt sorry for these young men.  They were totally out of their depth in the most dangerous area of Afghanistan, not really knowing what to expect desipte their training.

On the other hand, I didn’t find it easy to associate with any of the men, which made it difficult for the sympathy to last.

I am glad I have now seen this film, which for me was a difficult watch. I just hope I don’t meet any of the soldiers in real life, as I just wouldn’t know what to say to them.

Leave a Reply

