The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

I’ll come clean and say straightaway that 

  • I haven’t read the books, and
  • I have seen the Swedish-language films of the books.

I was a bit dubious about seeing this – I wondered if there was any point in remaking a perfectly good film, purely so that it was acceptable to English-speaking American audiences (it’s not about the money, money, money  …).

Well I suppose you could say that this will bring the story to a much larger number of people – but that leads me to the argument of “What’s the matter with watching subtitles?” and that’s a whole nother post.

Daniel Craig was surprisingly good in the role of Mikael Blomkvist – the journalist charged with getting to the bottom of a 40 year old mystery.  Rooney Mara was a slightly more vulnerable Lisbeth Salander than the iconic character created by Noomi Rapace in the Swedish-language version, and also did a great job.

Yes, there are some difficult scenes, and yes, they are justified (in my opinion) in explaining Lisbeth’s motivation.  

I’m still to be convinced that this version of the film has brought anything extra to the story, but it wasn’t a let down in any way – after all, it’s a good plot, with twists and secrets, and I enjoyed watching it.

Leave a Reply

