Oscar Nominations – first thoughts

The full list of Oscar nominations was announced today and, as ever, the timing of the general UK release of many of the films means that there are several which I haven’t seen.

There are also several which I missed when they came out, mostly because I chose not to see them.  The question is now, do I force myself to go and see something which I have little interest in (eg War Horse) just because it has been nominated?

Let me ponder and get back to you.  In the meantime – here are my first thoughts on the major categories.

Best Picture

War Horse – it had to be here, but I have little interest
The Artist – should win, but may be just too much for Hollywood
Moneyball – is it really Oscar-quality?
The Descendants – on the list to be seen asap
The Tree of Life – surprised at its nomination, but did love the film
Midnight in Paris – Woody Allen – no thanks.
The Help – missed it
Hugo – a children’s film by all accounts, will probably win
Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close – just had to look it up

Best Actress

Glenn Close, Albert Nobbs – no idea
Rooney Mara, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – a good performance
Viola Davis, The Help – missed it
Meryl Streep, The Iron Lady – a walk-over, despite an awful film
Michelle Williams, My Week With Marilyn – an impersonation, not an Oscar performance

Best Actor

Demian Bichir, A Better Life – just had to look it up, seems interesting
George Clooney, The Descendants – highly praised, but I need to see it to be convinced
Jean Dujardin, The Artist – not sure if the acting deserves such an accolade
Gary Oldman, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – a dull character in a dull film
Brad Pitt, Moneyball – really? Oscar?

Conclusion so far is that the only film I will go out of my way to see that I missed is The Help. If they’re new out, then I’ll go and see them.

After all the hype about Drive, I’m surprised it’s not there. And where’s Senna?!!!

Leave a Reply

