7 Días en la Habana (7 Days in Havana)

The description of this as a ‘portmanteau’ film almost put me off immediately. But having visited Havana several years ago. curiosity got the better of me so I decided to give it a go.

Each of the 7 sections of the film is directed by a different person, and takes place on a different day of a week in the Cuban capital.

I noticed some vague crossover of characters between some of the sections but not all, which left me thinking that the sections were more connected that I was actually picking up, so I left with the impression that I had missed something.

And the other issue with having seven different directors is that the weaker segments really do stand out.

I enjoyed being reminded of Havana and some of its ticks and traits, but I left feeling that the directors were trying to best each other with their take on Cuban life.

Colourful, but somewhat underwhelming.

Leave a Reply

