Only God Forgives

I’ll be honest, it’s taken me a while to work out exactly what to say about this film.

Strangely, it wasn’t as violent as I thought it would be. Don’t get me wrong, there is violence, and it’s strong, and I looked away on several occasions. What I mean is, I had expected the violence to be constant, but it isn’t.

The city of Bangkok looks strange and entrancing, and the soundtrack is mesmeric.  Ryan speaks barely a dozen sentences, and there’s a man who manages to produce a sword from his shirt at will.

In the end, although the film looks stunning and contains a great performance from Kristen Scott Thomas, I couldn’t sense any real emotion beneath the surface, so I felt detached from what little narrative there was. It felt empty, yet not chilling.

Beautiful hollowness.

One thought on “Only God Forgives

  1. Pingback: The Neon Demon – and Q&A with Nicolas Winding Refn | StrictlyMiniCine

Leave a Reply

