Rush

The long-awaited (at least by me) dramatisation of the rivalry between Formula 1 racing drivers Niki Lauda and James Hunt in the mid-seventies.

I had massively high hopes for this, as I am interested in F1, and also think Ron Howard is good at directing tension-filled moments.

Perhaps these high hopes were the reason that I was ultimately a little disappointed.

That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it – in fact I did – but I felt there was more to be developed with the two main characters, particularly Lauda. Below the surface, he was (is) ultimately the more interesting person.

True to form, the action sequences are alive, you really do feel like you are in the car with them and it’s really unnerving – in a good way.

An enjoyable use of a few hours, with good performances from Chris Hemsworth and particularly Daniel Brühl, but if you want real F1 rivalry, watch Senna instead.

Leave a Reply

