Blue Jasmine

I have a confession to make. I just don’t ‘get’ Woody Allen.

I wasn’t actually going to see this, but a friend persuaded me to go with her, so I went along with an open mind (honestly) to see where I have been going wrong.

I discovered that I’ve been going wrong by thinking that this time it will be better.

There’s no denying that Cate Blanchett is outstanding as the eponymous Jasmine, and it was she who saved me from actually leaving part way through.

However, had it been ‘real life’ I would never have chosen to spend two hours in the company of any of those people, and I resented every minute that I shared with them.

Do me a favour – next time I consider watching a Woody Allen film, shoot me.

Leave a Reply

