The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

When I commented on The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey last year, I said I would try out more films in the higher frame rate when they appeared. One year on, and this is the next opportunity which arose.

I think the 3D HFR technology has been tweaked a little since the last one – it’s still not perfect, but is distinctly better than before. The light loss is much less obvious, and I didn’t get a 3D headache, which is always a bonus.

The film mildly entertained me but I am a bit confused as to why the only actual Hobbit in the film didn’t really get much to do, and why the old man with the long grey beard kept sending the group off on dangerous journeys and then disappearing just when they needed his help. Mean old thing.

The best bits were with the dragon, and it was only at the end of this second film that I began to think that something was actually going to happen – which is a bit much after 6 hours of film time.

It’s certainly dragging it out a lot – I think the overarching title for the trilogy should be “The Hobbit: Are We Nearly There Yet?”

2 thoughts on “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

  1. I love you marie. Your comments are so true and I have just had a hearty laugh over your naming of the hobbit ‘trilogy’! Dave’s comment was – empire gave it 5 stars and they don’t do that often- also he was quick to add Kermode liked it. But I’m with you, Dave’s. Birthday today so can’t protest tooo much

    • Empire may well have given it 5 stars, but they also managed to list 100 films to see in 2014 and they were all in the English language! So I don’t always trust Empire, and anyway, it’s my blog so I’ll say what I like 🙂 Hope Dave had a lovely birthday!

Leave a Reply

