High-Rise

I had a idea about the type of film I should be expecting going in to this, but I’m not quite sure if this was quite what I had been anticipating.

That’s not to say I didn’t find it interesting though. Difficult, perhaps. Or as a woman coming out of the screening in front of me said “exhausting”.

The building which plays host to the events of the film almost has a personality of its own, and Tom Hiddleston is magnetic (and I’m not a fangirl). There’s a great soundtrack, and the wardrobe department clearly had a field-day recreating the 1970s.

The cracks in this vertical society are already there at the start of the film, and as it all starts to crumble, it is unsettling as the camera-work puts you right in the middle of the chaos. I wanted to get out, but I couldn’t. Well, I suppose I could have joined the dozen or so walk-outs, but that’s not me.

Leave a Reply

