Inglorious Location

I took myself off for a short pre-Christmas break in one of my favourite cities this weekend – Berlin!

I’ve already described a couple of locations from The Bourne Supremacy in a previous post, and this time, I even did the complete ‘get on a tram in Alexanderplatz’ thing that Jason and Nicky did.

But there’s much more to Berlin than that, and so this time I found myself eating Apfelstrudel. A bit like this:

strudel

Obviously a scene from Inglorious Basterds, no-one eats with more charming menace than Christoph Waltz. If you know the film well, you’ll know that the scene is set in Paris, but it was actually filmed in a beautiful café in Berlin – Café Einstein Stammhaus.

The café has a large open area, and a smaller room in which filming took place but which was unfortunately full when I arrived so I ended up sitting in the larger area.

strudel

No matter; I ordered my Apfelstrudel and coffee, and of course it was delicious.

cafeeinstein

Here’s the full, chilling scene, if you want to experience it again.

Leave a Reply

