Assassin’s Creed

I’m so sad, I spent most of the time thinking that the apostrophe in the title is in the wrong place. Surely the creed is that of more than one assassin?

The fact that I had time to think this also probably tells you just how engaged I was with this film – answer is: not much.

I would probably say that if you have any clue at all about the world from which this has come, and in which it is set, you will no doubt have a much better time than I did. I tried really hard, but I just couldn’t get into it. I found it silly, and Jeremy Irons was silly too. And Marion Cotillard, what are you doing?!! Not only was this not (in my opinion) a suitable role for her, but she didn’t sell it at all. I don’t know if she just doesn’t work as well in English, or if it’s the collaboration with director Justin Kurzel (Macbeth) – not impressed.

I did like the sequences where the movements of modern day Fassbender and his ancient iteration are merged together in some of the action sequences – but what I loved most was the idea that Michael Fassbender grows up to be Brendan Gleeson. That was worth watching for.

Leave a Reply

